Announcement Date: November 27, 2017

In December 2016 the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration announced the selection of the eight participating states: Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New  York, Nevada, Oklahoma, Oregon and Pennsylvania. Now a quarter of the way through the two-year demonstration program, the National Council surveyed CCBHCs to find how their participation has affected their capacity to expand and improve services. Survey results confirm that when community behavioral health clinics are incentivized to provide evidence-based care and provided compensation that adequately covers their cost of doing business, they can transform access to care in their communities. They are: increasing access to mental health and addiction treatment; expanding capacity to address the opioid crisis; collaborating with partners in hospitals, jails, prisons and schools; and attracting and retaining qualified staff who offer science-based, trauma-informed services – often on the same day patients present for care. Click here to see the early results in New York